Changes to the Seismic Risk Assessment Standards

03/08/2017 - Blog

As of July 2016, changes have been made to the ASTM E2026-16a and E 2557-16a standards.

These standards are also known as the Standard Guide for Seismic Risk Assessment of Buildings, and the Standard Practice for Probable Maximum Loss (PML) Evaluations for Earthquake Due-Diligence Assessments.

Some of the specific changes made to these standards include:

  • Revisions to the qualifications of the team that prepare the Seismic Risk Assessment
  • A new emphasis on obtaining and using structural drawings in the assessment
  • The inclusion of appendices consistent with ASTM E2557-16a X4 and X5

EBI Consulting works hard to ensure we are following these new standards every time we conduct a Seismic Risk Assessment.

If you want to read more about how EBI Consulting is able to comply with these new standards in greater detail, please visit our resources page to read a white paper written by Doug McCan, Program Manager in our Real Estate Traditional Due Diligence team, or click here. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at


Corporate Headquarters

21 B Street
Burlington, MA 01803
(781) 273-2500

Copyright © 2023 EnviroBusiness, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy.